General Counsel and Government Affairs

Address:
6201 S St.
Sacramento, CA 95817

Service of Process Hours & Telephone Number: 
9 AM - 3 PM 
1-916-732-6119 

Pursuant to federal, state, and local directives, SMUD has implemented temporary safety measures to minimize the risk of exposure to coronavirus (COVID-19) to our employees and the public, including closure of the lobby at the SMUD Headquarters Building. Until SMUD reopens the Headquarters Building, service of legal proceedings may be completed by e-mailing the document(s) to Legal@smud.org with a cc: to Marilyn.King@smud.org or by sending via fax to 1-916-732-6581. Service will be considered complete only upon the sender’s receipt of a return e-mail confirming SMUD has reviewed and accepted service. For personal service of initial papers (i.e., summons and complaint), please call 1-916-732-6119 to make arrangements. These alternative measures are temporary and may change at any time. Please stay updated by visiting COVID-19 updates.

Legal

The Office of the Chief Legal Officer provides legal services, strategies and solutions to help SMUD achieve its business and strategic directives on behalf of our customer owners.

Toni Stelling, assistant to Chief Legal Officer Laura Lewis
1-916-732-7143
 | Toni.Stelling@smud.org

Reliability Compliance & Coordination

This department manages the Internal Compliance Programs associated with Operational Reliability and Critical Infrastructure Protection (CIP) Standards and requirements required by Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (“FERC”), the North American Electric Reliability Corporation (“NERC”), and the Western Electricity Coordinating Council (“WECC”). In addition, it also manages new developments to the rules and regulations that impact reliability functions and operations, best practices, and internal controls, ensuring coordination internally and with external industry counterparts, experts, and officials.

James Leigh-Kendall, Director
1-916-732-5357
 | James.Leigh-Kendall@smud.org

State and Federal Government

This group manages and monitors legislation having potential impacts on SMUD. It also advocates SMUD's positions and strategies.

Danielle Roberts, state legislation
1-916-732-6419
 | Danielle.Roberts@smud.org

Larry Luong, federal legislation
1-916-732-6130
 | Lawrence.Luong@smud.org