For Immediate Release: August 21, 2018

SMUD Board appoints three unopposed candidates

Acting at the request of county voting officials, the Sacramento Municipal Utility District (SMUD) Board of Directors appointed two incumbent Board members and a first-time Board member to serve as SMUD directors because no other candidates filed to challenge them in the November election.

At a special meeting Monday evening, the Board appointed Gregg Fishman (Ward 3), Dave Tamayo (Ward 6), and Heidi Sanborn (Ward 7). Fishman and Tamayo are unopposed incumbents, while Sanborn ran unopposed for the Ward 7 seat, from which current Director Bill Slaton is retiring at term’s end.

Legislation enacted in 2014 establishes an appointment procedure for municipal utility districts if no candidate or only one candidate files for candidacy by 5:00 p.m. on the 83rd day before the election (August 15th).  The law requires the Board to make the appointment no later than August 22nd. Although the Board made the appointments yesterday, the appointed directors will not take office until January 1, 2019.

The rationale behind the legislation is to spare SMUD customers the expense of an election in the event that a candidate is running unopposed.

Last Thursday, SMUD received a Certificate of Facts notice from the county stating that only one candidate each had filed for SMUD Board Wards 3, 6 and 7, and requesting that the Board make the appointments. 

The SMUD Board of Directors represents seven wards, different geographic areas, in SMUD’s service territory. They cover all of Sacramento County and small adjoining portions of Placer and Yolo Counties.

More information about the SMUD Board of Directors, and locations and boundaries of the represented wards is available at